Say Call The Cops & I Will

I was wondering what I’d write about today when I crossed the road to visit my son at our apartment complex.  As I approached his door, I heard a woman screaming.  Then I heard an angry man’s voice and the woman yell, “Call the police.  Please!”  I yelled “Cut it out!” in the direction of the commotion and then heard more yelling and screaming.  Having been in similar situations when married and nobody around to help me, I yelled “If you don’t cut it out, I’m calling the cops!”  The man yelled back, “Go ahead Bitch!” and I was dialing 911 on my cellphone.  Then the lady and a young girl were crossing the street with the man right behind them.  I yelled I’d called the cops and the man told me to “get out of his business.”

Then he got in my face and was yelling at me while I was still on the phone with the 911 Dispatcher.  I told him I was on the phone with 911 and he turned and went back across the street.  What did the woman do?  She crossed the street and returned to her apartment even though I kept telling her not to.  The police arrived and went to the apartment and eventually everything was calm again.

The moral of this story is simple:  Anyone who has ever been in a similar situation knows how quickly things can escalate.  And as I said, tell me to call the cops and I will, but please leave the “bitch” out because it is sooo unnecessary.

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Say Call The Cops & I Will

  1. Your courage impresses me, but I hope you will be careful. To your family you’re most important person.

  2. What a nasty character. I hate hearing about people going through things like this and am truly sorry to hear that you did. Good for you, calling the cops though.

    • sandrabranum says:

      I may have over reacted, but was reminded of times when my friend B.J. helped me and Bernie. As I look back on it now, I know it was the adrenaline that made me brave or extremely fortunate. I’ve seen the guy since, but things have been pretty quiet lately. At least the people here in the apartment complex know that I’m not going to wait out a situation if I think we need the police,

  3. Take care of yourself, my friend. Pepper spray, anyone? Read my latest book The Catch and see how a young lawyer protects herself from sure catastrophe.

    • sandrabranum says:

      I feel more secure here than I did in Haleburg, AL because I lock my doors each night which is something that usually didn’t happen there in the boondocks, and when it did, she unlocked it as she charged outside during the night slamming the door behind her as she chased off fighting cats or whatever else.

    • sandrabranum says:

      Thanks Charmaine. I feel much safer here in Ozark; partly because I lock my doors each night. That was something that rarely happened in Haleburg, AL and the few times it did, she would still get up during the night for whatever reason and charge outside slamming the door behind her. Everything was supposed to be on her schedule, and now I can be on my own – whatever schedule that is. 🙂

Leave a Reply

