Mechanics, Now I Understand

The lamp was held together by the cord, and moi' FIXED it!

The lamp was held together by the cord, and moi’ FIXED it!

This is the bottom of my lamp.  The circular metal piece had to be pushed back into place to hold these colorful glass pieces together.

This is the bottom of my lamp. The circular metal piece had to be pushed back into place to hold these colorful glass pieces together.

This is the lamp that I use to tie all my many living room colors together.  I mean what else can you do when you have a plaid couch and “paint strokes” sheets displayed on your window and wall!

Today while opening the window because it was such a beautiful sunny day (take that rain) the lamp separated in my hands.  I don’t know if you’ve ever had that happen, but it feels weird.  Lucky for me I was able to stuff the upside down lamp between my legs while I surveyed the bottom piece.

The circular piece had come loose and was lying on the table stand and — since I’m not very mechanically inclined — it took a minute for me to realize it was even part of the lamp.  Once I knew that, the fun really began because I had to maneuver the metal piece back into its space while keeping the lamp and its long metal neck from moving.

As I said I’m not mechanically inclined, so what should have been a simple repair took me about 10 minutes.  I was so proud when I finally got that little pain in the arss piece of metal back in its place that I just had to take photos and share it with you, my blogging friends.  Onward…

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in friendship, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

