Breakfast: Whatever We Want

People still look at me crazy when I order out because I order whatever I want.  If I want SOS (sausage gravy) on biscuits, that’s what I get regardless of the time of day or night.  How many of us are slaves to what we think we should be eating at a particular time of day?  After graduating from high school I began work as a key punch operator at General American Life Insurance Co in St. Louis, MO.  Key punch operators used a key punch (card punch) machine to punch holes into cards that could be loaded into IBM Computers and translated it into data.  You might remember movies or photos from the 1970’s showing huge computers that aligned a whole room wall.  That’s when IBM was the computer giant.  Anyway I digress.

The daily sandwich truck came around between 8:30 – 9:30 am each day and we would see what goodies it had for sale.  I would often hear my peers say:  “Salad for breakfast?  What are you eating that for?”  You see I would buy whatever I wanted at that moment whether it was salad or chocolate milk and a Payday candy bar.  (If I wanted an egg sandwich for dinner that’s what I ate because I was a single, working girl and chose to enjoy it!)

After my son was born and I returned to Illinois, my son would eat breakfast with Dad while he waited for the school bus.  Dad had this habit of looking in the refrigerator and creating breakfast with whatever was left over.  Bernie would have a slice of pizza adorned with a scrambled egg on top for breakfast or his absolute favorite breakfast:  egg foo young.  How he loved eating breakfast with his grandpa.   Chili mixed in an egg was good too, but whenever Bernie was given the choice, it was egg foo young!  Sometimes now when we go to a Chinese restaurant and Bernie orders his favorite he complains that it’s not as good as Grandpa’s.  I tell him it’s because Grandpa made his special with lots of meat … and love.

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Breakfast: Whatever We Want

  1. I took my three year old to the diner the other day and he thought me letting him get pancakes for dinner was the absolute best thing he’d ever heard of!!! He was so excited…Order what you like, when you like….

Leave a comment