Hang On, Help Is On The Way

How many times have we passed someone who needs our help and we didn’t realize it?  Why are we in a specific place just at the right moment to help someone?  Fate?  Karma?  The Universe at work?  Who knows, but what’s important is that we Are there to help.  Take this morning for instance.  I was sitting in my living room reading emails when someone loudly banged on my front door!  It was my neighbor — hysterical because her daughter was sick at school and her car was broke down.   I told her to calm down and I would meet her in back by my car.  Thus began the adventure of rushing to pick up her daughter and be back in time for my daughter-in-law to borrow my car to drive to work.  Did we make it?  Yeah buddy, but afterwards I began to remember times when I needed help and someone was there for me. 

Right after my son was born, I was on leave without pay from my job at Tyndall AFB, FL.  My savings account had been frozen because the credit union (IL) was worried they wouldn’t get money for truck payments and Tyndall Federal Credit Union was worried about getting the trailer morgage payments.  And I was also recovering from a C-section.  Enter my buddy B.J. who loaned me $500 to get me through until I was back at work and getting paid.  When I was supposed to return to work, she took 2 weeks of military leave and babysat Bernie Jr free of charge so I could return to work and  finally get some money.  I used to leave work and find dog food or diapers in the truck bed.  She even brought me distilled water because we were afraid well water would hurt Bernie.  If it hadn’t been for B.J. Tanya puppy would probably have starved because there was just so much money and so many bills!  I often think about B.J. and pray a “Thank You” to her because I know in my heart we (Bernie Jr, Tanya and I) would not have survived without her.

Now I “pay it forward” just like in the movie Pay It Forward with Kevin Spacey, Helen Hunt and Haley Joel Osment.  I believe we are put in situations to help each other — just like this morning.  I mean think about it, today my daughter-in-law was scheduled for the afternoon shift instead of the morning shift.  It rained off and on for 3 days, but today was sunny so I could see to drive and for a change I was up and dressed!  Universe:  You are something else!

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, friendship, God and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hang On, Help Is On The Way

  1. What an incredibly uplifting post. The universe is, indeed, incredible and I’m glad you were able to help out. How wonderful to have had a friend who was able and willing to help you during your time of need.

    • sandrabranum says:

      Once at the Post Office a woman was counting out change for stamps and a money order. She was short and I told the Post Officer worker to just put the difference on my bill. The woman grabbed and hugged me which embarrassed me, but when I looked at the Postal Worker, there were tears in her eyes and I KNEW she had been in that predicament before too. Then there was the time when I went to the pharmacy and watched a woman try to cash a check for her daughter’s medicine, but couldn’t because the account wasn’t in her name; so I just added to cost to my bill. She profusely thanked me over and over, and I retreated as quickly as possible. When I got to my car, a woman approached and started saying “God bless you” and what a wonderful person I was for doing such a kind thing. She finally left, and as I sat in my car for a few more moments I must admit that I shed a few tears. Sometimes ya just can’t escape quick enough.

  2. Great post, Sandra, and awesome message…I also loved that movie and again, the message it conveyed!

    • sandrabranum says:

      It’s amazing how often we are compelled to do something or go somewhere and discover that our help is needed. I’ve gone to the Post Office and helped someone buy stamps; gone to the pharmacy and helped someone buy medicine for a child; pulled dollars from my wallet to help pay for someone’s groceries; the list goes one. Every time I say a silent “Thank you BJ.”

  3. Seyi sandra says:

    Great awesome post Sandra, I had goose pimples on my arms while reading it! That’s the essence of life, to lend a helping hand! I know what you must have gone through having a C section, I did too and I’m so glad the universe has someone like you and BJ!
    Stay blessed! 🙂

Leave a Reply

