Happy 26th Son

Two love birds dressed in green.

Two love birds dressed in green.

My son and daughter-in-law (Bernard Jr and Alexa) celebrating his 26th birthday.

My son and daughter-in-law (Bernard Jr and Alexa) celebrating his 26th birthday.

My little love, Alexa and I celebrated the big 26 yesterday at their apartment in Ozark, AL which is across the street from mine.  Notice how serious he looks?  It’s because he had to wait to get into his ice cream cake because I was too slow with the camera.  It’s hard to believe it’s been 26 years since my little love was born in Panama City, FL.

We wouldn’t be here in the Wiregrass area had it not been that I wanted him to have the opportunity to get to know his father’s people.  Now 7 years later, he’s married to Alexa and I’m now living across the road from him and his wonderful bride.

I spend quite a bit of time reminiscing about this road we’ve traveled:  living across the driveway from Mom (who was diagnosed with macular degeneration right after we returned to Cahokia, IL).   We spend 13 years living across the driveway in a 1 bedroom furnished apartment that we rented from my parents.  Who knows where we’d be now if Mom hadn’t been diagnosed in 2002 with terminal cancer.  We’d probably still be living in Cahokia if we hadn’t been forced to sell all the property (including Mom’s house because we weren’t living in it with her).  The Lord does work in mysterious ways.  Trust me; I speak from experience!   Onward…

 

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, macular degeneration, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy 26th Son

  1. It sounds like a great birthday celebration, Sandra, Happy 26th to your son…and you’re right, the Lord does work in mysterious ways and when they’re unclear, it’s tough to keep going, but onward is the only option…

Leave a Reply

