Oh Say Can You See

My kitchen night light and ultrasonic pest controller.

This is a photo of the night light and pest controller I have plugged in a wall socket of my kitchen.  I have lit night lights scatterered all through the apartment because I need the extra light due to my ever increasing vision loss.  Originally I had the pest controller plugged in the living room, but had to change it after I bought the couch.  That’s the trouble with ultrasonics:  the sound waves have to have clear space to work.  It’s too soon to tell if it will work in the kitchen, but I know it wasn’t working behind that plaid couch! 

When I first moved into this apartment there weren’t many bugs, but that could have been because the apartment had been sprayed.  Occassionally I would see a bug, and it seemed like the pest controller was working, but then at that time all I had in the living room was one plastic chair and boxes.  All that changed when the plaid couch was brought into the room and placed against the wall.  Slowly I began to see little black dots in the kitchen and since bug spray makes me sick I chose to relocate the pest controller.  The only problem with having it in the kitchen is that the night light had to be moved to the top socket and now there’s not as much light as before, but it’s just a fancy night light and serves its purpose.  Also I’m fortunate because I have an overhead kitchen light and this unit comes with a lighted stove and lighted oven!  Life is good.

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in macular degeneration, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oh Say Can You See

  1. We have night lights, too, Sandra, only because I don’t like a dark house if we get up in the middle of the night. And who likes bugs? 🙂
    Have a great day! xx

    • sandrabranum says:

      I’m needing more and more light all the time; so it’s just easier to have the night lights. Now whenever it rains I keep a flashlight close by just in case the electricity goes out.

Leave a Reply

