Just Me And You

I was lying in bed this morning pondering The Universe when I began to think about some of my favorite movies and their recurring theme.  One of my absolute favorites is Just The Way You Are starring Kristy McNichol and Michael Onkean.  It is the story of a “gimp” who fakes a broken leg so she can be rid of her brace and be “normal.”  The quote I kept remembering was: “You can’t make people be more than they are.”  Just think about it, and you’ll know that it’s true; so why do we spend so much time pretending to be something we’re not or worse:  trying to mold someone into what we think he/she should be?

Another of my favorites is a movie made for television called Why Me? starring Amand Assante and Glynnis O’Connor.  It’s the story of a woman monsterously disfigured from an automobile accident and the plastic surgeon who rebuilds her face.  This movie is based on a true story, and I like it so much that I really should see if I can find the book and read it.  There are many other movies I could mention, but the point I’m trying to make is:  we are who we are; so accept us for ourselves or as the song goes:  “Hit the road Jack!”

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

