Cat & Dog

In the spirit of Halloween and the macabre, here is another poem for you to peruse.

Dog & Cat

Poor kitty cat — you fool.

Did you not think

I would eat you

if you ventured

into my pen?

 

I am Canine

and as such

we are mortal enemies

unless trained otherwise.

 

Is it not the same

for you and mouse?

You should be grateful

I did not

torture you as you

would have your quarry

before devouring it

as dinner.

Perhaps now

the Humans will take

better care

of your mates

so they won’t

risk the same fates.

For I am Canine

and you are not.

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cat & Dog

  1. Poor kitty. Litchi (my dog) was an only child, until the arrival of the cats. She loves them and has definitely not eaten them 😀

  2. sandrabranum says:

    The adult cats antagonize the dogs; so when the kitten sneaked into the pen he didn’t have a chance. Perhaps if I had known… but I was on the phone at the time. Now I always kick the gate’s bottom with my foot to make sure there’s no open gaps.

  3. Bongo says:

    I think I need to show these poems to Scratchy.

Leave a Reply

