Poetry Rejects

In the spirit of Halloween and trick-or-treating, here are more of my submitted (and rejected) poetry.  These particular poems were submitted for a theater anthology.  The moral of this post is simple:  toughen up … continue to be brave and submit.

Rush

 Fear and adrenaline

Cut to your core

As you await the cue

That starts

The Grand Entrance

Of your new character.

 

Oh critics please agree!

You silently bemoan

As you gulp in the air

And begin your new role

For the next fort night

Or longer,

You hope.

 

Energy Feed

Rise, oh curtain so divine

So I may peer out into this crowd

And suck their energy.

You see I need it

For my character

For he has none of his own

And I am at a loss on

How to be him.

This is a comedy, you see

And I need this crowd’s energy

To boost my character’s dynamics.

No he’s not a vampire,

But the principle’s the same –

For I need the crowd’s sustenance

For my character

And this play

To survive!

 

Curtain Call

 Prance and strut

Upon the stage

Then quickly

Make your exit

Until next time

You hear the call

And know you

Must obey…

 

 

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in friendship, poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

