Mr. Sammo

Mr. Sammo waiting for treats.He invaded my life
the day he climbed
into my car.

This mangy black and tan puppy 
who was thirsty and starved
for food and affection.

Our bond was sealed that day
as I drove him home
to our new adventures together.

Now ten years hence
and his muzzle is gray
where once black and tan
were displayed

But still we endure Mr. Sammo and I
as our adventure continues…

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mr. Sammo

  1. rebecca2000 says:

    awww sweet. I love my puppies even when they are old.

    • sandrabranum says:

      Mr. Sammo will be my last dog unless I move because I prefer an inside one, and he’s been outside since we moved Down South from the St. Louis Area. Now if I would just become a well known paid writer … our move would be imminent. LOL

  2. he must have found his angel in you 🙂

    • sandrabranum says:

      When he found me, my mom had been diagnosed with terminal lung cancer and I was going to look at a house to rent because we had to sell off all her property for the nursing home “spend down” so Medicare would pay for her care. I’ve always felt he was my angel and have spent many a night holding him tightly — that is until I moved to the Dothan, AL area and he had to become an outside dog. Poor Old Man.

Leave a Reply

