AOL, How Are Ya?

It’s so comforting to know that I’m once again working on my old Dell laptop.  It’s been unusable for about a month due to AOL not supporting AOL 8.  You can imagine how difficult it was for me not being able to log on out here in The Boondocks; especially since sometimes I feel like it’s my only connection to the outside world due to my eyes..  I even attempted using an old borrowed desk top computer, but it wouldn’t logon either  (even though it had AOL 8+).  I finally called AOL and asked them to mail me a cd to update the software, and today it arrived!

Yes my poor Dell is slow, but it has all the software I need for printing documents, writing scripts, and even creating PDF documents; so once again I’m back on-line and grateful for this slow… steady… machine.

To celebrate my good fortune, I even  entered a 91 word memoir contest that Gotham Writers Workshop is sponsoring.  The deadline is Monday October 15; so if you want to enter — be quick.  You can find the information at http://writingclasses.com   but I warn you writing only 91 words is not as easy as it sounds.  Onward…

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in macular degeneration, writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to AOL, How Are Ya?

  1. JL Stratton says:

    I wonder why it’s 91 words. Could they have not made it an easy 90 words? Or, how about 100? Anyway, glad you got your AOL back.

    • sandrabranum says:

      Yesterday the Dell laptop logged onto AOL, but today it’s not locating the modem; so I’m back on the computer that Christa game me, but now wants back. Guess I’ll have to save money for another computer, which is now difficult since my eye shots are so expensive (even with the deductible) and now I must go monthly. That’s what I wrote about in my 91 word memoir. At least I’m never at a loss for writing fodder! 🙂 🙂 Sandra

  2. gold account says:

    I disliked my job, but I dreaded being fired from it, and with good reason; it’s been five months since my firing now, and I’ve run through my savings, and I still haven’t found another full-time writing gig.

    • sandrabranum says:

      I approved this “gold account” comment because I wanted to motivate us all. Times are hard and we all need to be reminded of this from time to time; so hang in there and keep smiling! Sandra

Leave a Reply

