Cursed*

A monthly curse so challenges me

as a doctor’s visit means shots.

No sense in postponing it

vision loss would increase.

Courage’s mustered up.

To him I go

for my shot.

Tears flow

So?

 

*This style poem is called a nonet.  The syllable sounds decrease from 9 to 1.  Try it; you may like it.

 

 

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in macular degeneration, poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Cursed*

  1. Mimi says:

    I’ve never heard of a nonet …. I’ll have to try it …. Good luck with your doctor’s visit. I’m glad to hear that the misery of those shots is worth it!

  2. hope and pray your eye sight improves!

    • sandrabranum says:

      Thank you for the moral support. Some days are harder than others, and so I write.

      • sharmishtha basu says:

        hope it acts like a magic wand, it sometimes does!

      • sandrabranum says:

        In my case the shots are just buying me time because laser surgery would create scar tissue and decrease my vision. I learned a lot about this when Mom was diagnosed with both the wet and dry types of macular degeneration. I know I’m lucky that I can get the shots, but that really doesn’t help me much when I face that dang needle each month! 🙂 🙂 Though I must say it does give me plenty to write about.

  3. I like your blog the content is exceptional! It was a great read I spent some time here. I will be back for more posts Thanks!

    • sandrabranum says:

      Thanks. In the spirit of helping any way you can (which I have written about) here is a link to help those in Virginia Beach who may need help with Hurricane Sandy recovery. Sandra

Leave a Reply

