Surprise, Me?

It’s a very good idea to regularly check your name on Google; especially now since search engines show so much personal information.  With that in mind, I decided to once again research my name and discovered that something I had posted on Facebook is now posted on Tyndall AFB’s Social Media Updates!  

www.cityalice.com/FL/Tyndall_AFB_Florida/posts

Sandra Branum – I’m proud to have been a part of the program even if it was just supplying parts from Tyndall AFB, FL to the shuttles.

Lucky for me, I was commenting about how proud I was about my part in The Space Shuttle Program and not stating “trash talk” that people hate.  

I believe I would never have been a part in this wonderful program had I not moved to Panama City in the Florida Panhandle — also known as L.A. [Lower Alabama] by the locals — in the ’80’s.  It was so scary:  leaving my family behind and moving to where I only knew one person, but God (as always) was watching over me and so I went.

My first job at TAFB was in the Base Supply Receiving section, but about 6 months later I was promoted to MICAP (Mission Capability).  We supplied the needed airplane and drone parts for the flying/training mission at TAFB.  I probably would never have gotten into MICAP had Scott AFB’s (IL) Base Supply Management not thought I was qualified.  (You see I overheard my boss one day telling his supervisor that he didn’t think I could do something like that (working in MICAP) because I wasn’t smart enough to read blueprints!)  Anyway when the opportunity arose, I just had to prove them wrong — I know:  sometimes I’m such a bitch!

Anyway I worked in TAFB’s MICAP for over 6 years, and I gotta tell ya it was great calling all over the world scrounging up parts for the airplanes and drones.  When pilots from other bases would come here for training, we found parts for them and I met some wonderful people.  I was proud of my accomplishments, but the greatest one of all was when we’d get calls from Patrick AFB, FL saying they needed Shuttle parts.  Sometimes a Shuttle would be grounded at Eglin AFB (about 90 miles away) which was as close as a shuttle ever got to TAFB, FL.

I remember one day driving with my boss to Eglin AFB and we were lucky enough to see the shuttle flying away from the base “piggyback” just like in the photographs.  That’s what I thought about that day when I posted my comment on Facebook.  So in closing let me just say to all my Fellow Readers out there:  share your stories; who knows what future scientist you may motivate!

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, friendship, God, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Surprise, Me?

  1. Tanveer Rauf says:

    Hi! I like your positive approach and positive thinking 🙂

Leave a Reply

