Help Any Way You Can

Help comes in all sizes and shapes.  Rich philanthropists donate money, and some even do more than that by giving their time to help others:  dishing out food for the homeless, building homes like President Jimmy Carter does…  My wonderful daughter-in-law recently donated her long beautiful dark hair to Locks of Love. 

I have no idea what motivated her to do this, but I like to think it has to do with the story my son Bernie and I told her while we were in Tallahassee, FL.  Alexa likes to hear tales of Bernie’s youth, and it’s a great way for us to bond.  Anyway this particular day I mentioned something about long hair and that’s when we began talking about why I can’t stand people touching my hair (another story I’ll share later, I promise) and about how Bernie went to donate his hair to Locks of Love.

Locks of Love is a non-profit organization that collects hair for children.  When Bernie went to donate he visited a beauty shop in Cahokia, IL.  His hair was shoulder length at the time and he wore it in a pony tail dangling from mid back of his head.  This beauty shop gave free haircuts if you donated your hair to Locks of Love, but that meant your hair had to be at least shoulder length. 

Alexa donated a whopping 11″ so you can imagine how long her hair was (I’d say at least mid back before).  Betcha now she feels happier and “lighter” due to her hair cut.  Happier because she just helped children in need and lighter because she no longer has all that hair weighing her down.  And as I already said:  there are many ways to help people in need; so see what you can do!

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, friendship and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

