We Got Us A Convoy

Well here I am home again and using the s-l-o-w dial-up connection once more.  The trip home was emotional because my eyes were bothering me from the previous day’s tests, it was raining and we joined a convoy of tree trimming trucks that were heading South to help with the Hurricane Relief Effort.

About 15 tree trimming trucks arrived at our Tallahassee hotel sometime early morning Thursday and we discovered about 30 men in the hotel lobby eating breakfast.  Dang my eyes were bothering me too much to really enjoy the “scenery.”  The truckers finished before us and headed out to their trucks.  The long convoy line was leaving as we were climbing into the car for the drive home.  The guys smiled and waved.  We passed them on the way to I-10 and watched them follow us onto the South ramp toward Pensacola.

I got all teary-eyed thinking about those Samaritans going to help out along the Gulf Coast.  “Our” trucks joined up with other trucks from another company, and then there must have been close to 30 of them heading south.  My son called off the state’s names displayed on the truck plates:  Indiana, Tennessee, Kentucky.  The men who stayed at our hotel were from Indiana, and I got teary-eyed again as I remembered seeing a similar site when returning to St. Louis from Alabama after Katrina so many years ago; so thanks y’all.  You’re help is greatly appreciated.  Regards, Sandra

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to We Got Us A Convoy

  1. So amazing – the people that go out and help like that, from so many different areas. I hope you all stay safe and sound. Once again, I feel lucky to live in a city with such mild weather. You guys really get the works over there.

Leave a Reply

