Summer Skirmish!

The fire ants have found me

once again

And the burning

tells me

Not one or two

but a whole brood

scorched my feet

and toes

and even ankles

as the burning grows.

Now I could surrender

and retreat to the house

But I’ll not stop

this skirmish

Not when

my clothes are almost

hung up

on the clothesline!

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in poetry, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Summer Skirmish!

    • sandrabranum says:

      Are the fire ants bad where you are? My mom used to get big welts where ever she got stung and someone told her to pour Accent directly onto them. Whenever she’d come to visit, the first thing we always did was go out and buy Accent. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Sandra

      • rumpydog says:

        no, don’t have them here in Murfreesboro, but Jen’s mom had problems with them in North Alabama.

      • sandrabranum says:

        Is that Murfreesboro, TN? I drive through there whenever I return to the St. Louis area to visit. I prefer the Southern route, but with my eyes like they are I now travel the routes I’m most familiar with.

  1. Ooh, sounds awfully painful. I’m happy to say I’ve never had an encounter with fire ants before (not even sure if we have them here in SA). That must have been some very important washing πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

