Swing Time

My blogging buddy at L Scott Poetry wrote a beautiful poem about a crowing rooster, and now I’m remembering stories Mom told me about the horrible rooster that was Grandpa Schmelter’s (her dad) pride and joy.

He strutted around the yard like some giant peacock and had an attitude to match.  Mom hated him and Aunt Ginnie — Ginnie Annie as Mom called her sister — was terrified of him because he always pecked at her every time she came near him.  According to Mom, that awful bird deliberately picked on Aunt Ginnie!

One day Aunt Ginnie was told to go outside and collect the eggs, but she was too afraid to go; so Mom went instead.  Mom was carrying a frying pan because there weren’t enough eggs for a bucket.  That bird flew at Mom, and she wacked him with the pan like a slugger would a baseball!

The hard part was going inside and telling Grandpa what she’d done because Grandpa loved that dang bird.  He was broken hearted, but Grandma fried that cocky dead rooster up for dinner anyway.  And Mom told me:  “That was the toughest old bird she’d ever eaten.”

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Swing Time

  1. HA This is great, and as someone who sports scars from run-ins with the spurry creatures I can only feel a sense of satisfaction at the outcome!

  2. Thanks Silver Poet. Isn’t is amazing what we can remember due to someone else’s post?

  3. My mom loved divinity. She didn’t love to make it though! We used to make it for Christmas, but not every year. I think she thought it was too much work. She always said it was a two person job. One beating {she didn’t have a good mixer} and one pouring the syrup mixture slowly into the bowl. I always thought it was fun and would beg to make it! Divinity can be tricky to make, beat it too little and it won’t set, beat it too much and it turns grainy. Mom’s was always perfect! I have never made it by myself, only with my mom, and that was years ago. BUT…. I was hungry for divinity and it was a cold snowy day with not much to do, so I whipped up a batch. It was just as I remembered. Sweet and fluffy! Here’s the recipe my mom always used: Divinity 2 1/2 c. sugar 1/2 c. light corn syrup 1/2 c. water pinch of salt 2 egg whites 1 tsp. vanilla Cook the sugar, corn syrup, and water to hard ball stage. {260} Meanwhile,when it stars reaching 250, beat the egg whites until stiff peaks form. When syrup reaches 260, pour it SLOWLY into the egg whites, beating continually. Add vanilla and beat until it holds its shape, about 5 minutes. Drop by tsp. onto waxed paper.

    • sandrabranum says:

      I am posting your comments because I feel everyone could use a good divinity recipe, especially around The Holidays. Of course everyone could use some silver too, but who (like me) can afford it. Thanks for the recipe. 🙂 🙂 Regards, Sandra

Leave a Reply

