Quality Choices

The anchor clunks into the water

as its wake splashes the boat

And I wonder if the fish have

all been scared away

I can’t believe I fell for this

“Quality Time” when I hate fishing

You gaze at

my scowling face

and reach for the anchor’s chain

“Come help me with this” is all you say

And I realize you’ve chosen

something else for

Our quality time

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, friendship, poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Quality Choices

  1. Great poem Sandra! I want to know: what was the something else planned? You don’t have to say. Just feedback that this piece got my mind going making up my own story of where you went next!

    • sandrabranum says:

      Thanks Diane. I’m so glad you liked it. So, what other plans did you come up with? πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Sandra

      • I imagine the driver of the boat is my husband (who’s always full of fun surprises) and he is taking me further up stream to a waterfall. Or we are going to dock somewhere down stream and have a romantic dinner on a beach. Or we are abandoning the entire boat thing, getting in the car, driving to the airport and flying somewhere dreamy. Just a few places my mind went! This was fun!

      • sandrabranum says:

        Gosh Diane, you are one lucky lady to have such a romantic man. Remember to make him “follow through” on your ideas … and Men in BlogLand: Get the idea? Onward, Sandra

  2. Beautiful, insightful!
    I love how the poem is also a mystery!

    • sandrabranum says:

      Thanks Traveler. I’m always telling people to communicate with each other, but to parafrase you: Mysteries keep life interesting too. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

