Hey There!

Here Down South, we say “Hey” for “Hello” and since I’ve been gone from Blogland for so long, I thought I’d start with a greeting.  It’s been over a week since I last blogged and that’s because of depression and fatigue due to fighting the fear that sometimes grips me.

I was scheduled for another eye shot the Thursday before Memorial Weekend (May 24th), but my wonderful doctor had surgery scheduled that afternoon and I could not be reached to change my appointment time.  Dr. “Wonderful” only comes up from Panama City, FL on Thursdays; so my appointment was rescheduled for the following Thursday afternoon.  Dr. W was only going to be here in Dothan Thursday morning on the 31st; so once again my appointment was rescheduled because he usually only gives shots in the afternoons — only this time they caught me and rescheduled for that morning.

The office was pretty crowded, and once I was numbed we waited for the doctor.  Unfortunately for me, this assistant did not keep numbing me like the last one did, and I was already very uncomfortable because I was lying on a gurney and fighting to control my nervousness.

Dr. W came in and stuck the specula on my right eye and I felt it scrape the tear duct.  The only way I can describe it is to say that it was like being in the dentist’s office and him telling you “You won’t feel anything,” but he’s wrong!

I’m not exactly sure what happened after that, but my guess (from past experience) is I tried to close my eye with the specula in it and he had to jab me twice!  Dr. W is so sweet … and patient.  He told me I was done, but I told him I felt like I might pass out; so we all waited until I was feeling better.  Guess it’s time for me to “toughen up” or I won’t be prepared if and when eye stem cell trials begin.

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in macular degeneration, writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

