Beam Me Up Scotty!

My last stop before leaving St. Louis was The Science Center where the traveling Star Trek Exhibit was located.  Unfortunately for you and I, taking photos was not allowed inside the exhibit.  I thought about sneaking some anyway, but: 1.  I’m really slow with my cell phone and 2.  The exhibit was monitored by Science Center Staff. 

Photos could be purchased for a fee inside the exhibit in 3 separate locations, but I wasn’t going to invest the money on me and since I was alone…  At one point, I was asked if I wanted my photo taken in Captain Kirk’s chair, but I declined by saying “I was just an observer.”  Besides I was busy with my pen and note pad jotting down all kinds of notes.  I almost reconsidered when I got to the transporter room and was asked again, but it was just me.  Perhaps someday I’ll be able to invest the money in a photo of my grandchild being “transported” into “The Final Frontier.”

The exhibit is “fascinating” as Mr. Spock would say.  It’s a self-guided tour so you can spend the whole day perusing the displayed items and information.  The tour is divided into 3 sections and videos detail the creation of Star Trek and its many spin-offs and movies as well as costumes, props, and even models.  One of the many Enterprise models is displayed along with a Klingon ship.  The Klingon ship is about 3 ft long, whereas The Enterprise is about 4 1/2 ft  befitting Captain Kirk’s one and only “true love.”  Scripts from Star Trek – The Next Generation are displayed along with story board drawings showing the break down of a story.  What surprised me about the story boards is that I was reminded of graphic novels — a major “Duh moment” for me.

There’s a life-size Klingon throne as well as life-size navigation chairs, and even a life-size model of Captain Picard as a Borg!  Masks of different Star Trek characters are displayed as a video narrates how the characters were created.  At one point, the video explains how “a lot of color” was used in the characters’ makeups and that green paint was specifically used on Susan Oliver in the original Star Trek pilot “The Cage.” The video goes on to explain how the first pilot was unsuccessful and that a second pilot was ordered with William Shatner and we all know what happened after that!

I enjoyed my space adventure and hope that the exhibit will come to a city near you so you too can explore “The Final Frontier.”

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

