Traveling With Eye Shots Day 2

Today I begin another chapter in my quest to understand and accept these cursed eye shots.  This is the 2nd day of my first trip anywhere alone since I began this shot regime in 2010.  I would have loved to post last night, but was too tired after returning to the motel from a free pitch seminar at Rojos Restaurant in Birmingham, AL.  I managed this feat because I knew exactly where I was going.  I even declined stopping in Memphis to see my cousins because I don’t know that route like I do:  231N to 65N to 24W to 57N to 64W.  Once upon a time I hated that route, but that was 8 years ago and things so change.

The pitch session seminar was very informative.  We learned all sorts of neat things such as staying calm and living with our characters and story before attempting any pitching because the more you know about your story, the more you can be prepared for questions which is what you want because that means you’ve generated interest.  Tell the story in a conversational way and always start with the theme such as:  a mother protecting her child, reconnecting with loved ones, etc.  Also I met a man who had worked on the movie Big Fish.  We talked independent film, Birmingham’s Movie Festival and an indie film trailer he’s doing for a movie he hopes to begin shooting in May. 
What an evening! 

At the moment I’m sitting in a motel in Metropolis, IL preparing tomorrow to continue on my trip to St. Louis, MO where I will connect with family and childhood friends.  My friend Barb — you know her as The Gadabout — has volunteered to be my driver in St. Louis because there’s a whole bunch more traffic there than in little Dothan, AL.

I hope to have some photos of my trip posted once I arrive in St. Louis.  Oh I almost forgot, Friday will be a great evening also because I have plans to go to the St. Louis Science Center where I will listen to the Star Trek script writer of The Trouble with Tribbles!  Can’t wait to tell you all about it.

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, friendship, macular degeneration and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

