In The Twenty

This poem is dedicated to us scribes as we struggle with our words… and our futures.

In The Twenty —

not in the money

But still we persevere

The dream once again

Alive

for Validation has been

rekindled.

 

 

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in poetry, writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to In The Twenty

  1. Bongo says:

    Did you have something accepted?

    • sandrabranum says:

      Not recently, but when the winners of the Mini Screenwriting Contest were announced the person running it said there had been 20 that he had to reread; so I emailed and asked if my script was one of them and it was! That’s where the idea came for the poem. Now I can finish the script knowing I’m doing better than I thought I was. Success is often measured in “baby steps”.

      • I don’t mean to interrupt this conversation, Sandra, but I’m happy that yours was one of the 20! Keep taking those baby steps and I know you’ll make it! Great poem, too! 🙂

      • sandrabranum says:

        I read somewhere that the average “overnight success” takes 7 years; so now I imagine myself a turtle and plod along one step at a time. Wish I could find some water — I can swim much faster than I walk! 🙂

  2. I had a similar experience being short-listed for an award. It’s a good baby step to have. It’s nice to know your work gets properly read-through and considered, even if it’s not the lucky winner just yet.

Leave a Reply

