Work Dang It!

I’ve been attempting to get back to my script writing and seem to start, but not finish since I took an online script writing course over the summer.  It’s not that I’m a bad script writer, but I’m not yet great enough to win any contests.  After my last attempt and loss I returned to writing poetry and got published in online magazines and on the Judd’s Hill Wine website. I still have some submissions pending and anxiously await the results of those poetry endevours.

But that’s not the same as writing a script and getting it accepted.  I’ve got so many scripts started and unfinished that I’m beginning to think I should concentrate on just short scripts and start making them myself.  With this in mind, I visited my son’s new rented trailer with the intention of loading software for my newly purchased  super small HD camcorder.  We had a lovely visit and when it was time to load the software, Ms. Brainiac discovered it was at home!  Now I must wait until my next visit (he has broadband whereas I have dial up here in The Boondocks). 

As soon as I returned home I again began working on my scripts and soon realized I needed motivation to get me back on track; so I invested $3.00 in a mini screenwriting contest that closes Dec. 31 at midnight.  I’ve already got the required pages written, but am still having trouble creating the logline.  I had thought about waiting to submit the payment and deduced that I might not finish the information if I waited; so the $3.00 has been a good investment in motivation.  And now tell me Fellow Readers, what do you do when you want/need motivation?

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Work Dang It!

  1. Pete Denton says:

    I like a deadline to motivate me. I took a couple of creative writing course of the last two years that helped motivate me!

    Now I just want to finish my book and stories and get published. A friend has just signed a book deal. I want some of that too.

    • sandrabranum says:

      A book deal, how wonderful. You’re next. A friend of mine self published using Smashwords and has done pretty well. Now he’s concentrating on writing the breakout novel and also getting a book deal. Good luck.

  2. Bongo says:

    Classes seem to motivate me the best as there are assignments due, although I did motivate myself to paint before Christmas by deciding all of my family were getting paintings for Christmas. Now I’ve got to find another reason to paint. If I knew how to paint dogs I could paint Bongo for his blog.

    That was actually a pretty good idea, leaving the software at home. Now you absolutely have to go visit your son again.

    • sandrabranum says:

      Do you use oil when you paint? I used to paint with water colors when I was young, and then forgot how to do it. Guess I need to start again just to keep my creativity flowing.

  3. JL Stratton says:

    Sometimes I’ll listen to some music to get me in a mood. I like to go back through previous writing and use that for motivation. Only trouble with that is I sometimes start editing. Another thing that helps me is to not worry about writing story, and concentrate instead on developing a character in the story – play “what if” with a character to test their reactions. Best luck to you. I know you are talented, but remember, everyone has up and down times in their writing. It’s the muses way of showing us who’s in control. Although all this advice may only work for novel writing. I have no experience with scripts.

    • sandrabranum says:

      Those are great suggestions and should work for me too. Sometimes I like to watch a movie about whatever genre I’m script writing to get the muse working. That’s what I did when I wrote my vampire script. I even broke down and finally watched “Dusk To Dawn” uncut because I didn’t want to miss anything and spent many hours watching “True Blood” when I was writing a spec script to submit to a contest.

  4. Maiya says:

    My motivation has gone. I’ve given up submitting. I have three childrens stories which I completed but am sux at writing that all important synopis (is that how you spell it) and cover letter so just writing poetry until my motivation comes back.

Leave a Reply

