Get Over It!

The Eagles recorded a song entitled Get Over It and it was my theme song in 1995.  I slipped on ice in January of that year; broke my ankle, and then spent 8 weeks camped out on my sister’s couch because I couldn’t navigate the steps where my son and I lived.  Being my sister’s house guest all that time gave us enough togetherness to last a lifetime, and sometimes now when I miss her I think about all that time I aggravated her (and vice versa), and suddenly don’t miss her quite so much.  I spent quite awhile overcoming the fear I acquired after my injury and recuperation, and must admit it was sometimes down right hard to do this, but with songs like Get Over It I managed.

Today marks the 9th anniversary of Mom’s death, and I so needed that song today.  I awoke expecting to feel a little sad because my son’s paternal grandmother had already begun removing the Christmas decorations.  If I had my way, they’d be up all year round.  Just think:  “It’s my Christmas and I need it Now!” and you’d understand how I feel.  I’ve got an heirloom shirt that was Mom’s — most of the others are now too holey to wear in public — that I wore today to help me navigate this roller coaster day.  I tried to keep my mind occupied as best I could, but still spent the day brooding, and since I wasn’t home I couldn’t fire up the computer and write my sorrows away. 

Luckily my son had rum and eggnog from Christmas; so I had some and felt so much better.  One cap of spiced rum and a cup of eggnog works almost as well as a rousing song, and if not you’ll be so mellow you won’t really care.  I must keep that in mind for New Year’s Eve.  I already told my son I won’t be over for their party — don’t want to cramp their style with a geriatric hippy.  Anyone having a New Year’s Bash I can crash?  Meanwhile I’m “getting over it” one day at a time.

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Get Over It!

  1. Writer Jobs says:

    What a wonderful post. You have an excellent eye for writing.

    I wanted to share this resource with writers everywhere. This really helped me out.

    Writers Wanted – Writing Jobs Available

  2. Bongo says:

    It takes time to get over it – and then something comes up to bring it all back – like an anniversary. It’s all part of life. Blessings to you.

Leave a Reply

