Mastercard Commercials and Life

I just received an email from Cinema St. Louis informing me that the St. Louis Symphony is going to perform John Williams’ music.  Suddenly I’m wishing I was back home — braving the cold — and going to the symphony.  Then I remember that I can’t see all that well, especially at night, and am suddenly glad once more that I am living here in The Boondocks.

After allowing myself to feel the emotions of frustration and pain caused by these realizations, I began to reminisce about younger days when my eyes were better and my son was little; and our foray into braving St. Louis winter to see the St. Louis Symphony perform John Williams’ music and see the Flying Karamazov Brothers.  You may remember this troupe of jugglers and acrobats from the  Jewell of the Nile movie.  Actually the man playing The Jewel was a member of the troupe, but I digress from my story. 

I had told my son stories about watching these fantistic entertainers perform on The Ed Sullivan show when I was young, and once before had planned to take him to see them perform in St. Louis, but he got sick.  He got so excited when I told him The Flying Karamazov Brothers were returning to St. Louis and we our made plans to attend a performance.

I remember the evening well.  We got all dressed up in our Sunday best and I dodged the traffic to drive to midtown St. Louis.  We had to traipse through fresh snow to walk the block back to the building, but it was worth it. 

I can remember Bernie sitting there stupefied over the troupe’s antics: seeing them juggling back and forth while riding on unicycles.  The cost of the outing:  forgotten, but the memory:  priceless!

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

