Creation

Once upon a time

everything had to rhyme

so Poets spent hours

delving into resonance

to evoke that perfect sound

to conjure the wanted images

to explain their thoughts

or feelings.

But since that time

poetry has evolved

and rhyme no longer plays

that great a part

Unless you wish to torture yourself

when poem creating.

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in poetry, writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Creation

  1. haha so true, but I’m afraid I still spend time on creating ryme, perhaps I was born in the wrong century.
    “delving into resonance”
    Love that line!!
    AZ

  2. sandrabranum says:

    Thank you for your kind words. When I write, sometimes it rhymes and sometimes not, but I feel the important thing is to write from the heart in whatever style. I look forward to reading more of your work.

    Regards.

  3. Ah, poetry – meaning and sound – and with luck easily found – but usually poets just get tired or drown. HA HA.
    Seriously nice post – always loved the word “evoke” it just sounds poetic!

  4. Bongo says:

    Sometimes I like to write poetry in a particular form – rhyme, rhythm, and all. It’s kind of like putting a puzzle together.

    • sandrabranum says:

      I’ve always hated puzzles and now realize it’s because I don’t want to take the time to figure them out which is silly because often that’s exactly what we writers have to do when creating.

  5. sandrabranum says:

    I just write. Sometimes it flows and I use it; sometimes not, but I can always write some sort of poem. Wish I could say the same for my other writing.

  6. Love this, Sandra, and sometimes, I still like to rhyme…

Leave a Reply

