Just Around The Corner…

December is here which means Christmas is just around the corner.  I don’t know what Christmas means to you, but it conjures up all kinds of emotions and memories for me.  Some of the memories are good:  childhood memories of getting and decorating the Christmas tree; searching for hours to find that perfect gift; playing Christmas carols.   I always began playing the Classic Christmas Collection the day after Thanksgiving.  I’d pull the records out and stack them onto the record player and let them play.  Mom loved it.  When our record player died of old age, I’d turn on the radio and find a station that played Christmas carols and Mom and I would sit around and reminiscence about the happy times we had visiting loved ones at Christmas, and decorating the house and the tree.

After Dad died in 1995 and Mom’s eye sight slowly deteriorated, we stopped decorating her house, but still continued with the Christmas song tradition.  I’d turn the radio to a Christmas station and let it play.  She knew that when she got tired of the music she could just unplug the radio and then call me when she was ready for more music since I lived right across the driveway.

Mom had a plastic tree that was decorated with Hawaiian leis from Mom and Dad’s one and only trip to Hawaii.  That was her Christmas tree after Dad died.  We’d add some Christmas bows to it, and set a small white lighted ceramic  Christmas tree atop the nearby console television.  She would sit on the couch and gaze at the two side-by-side trees and remember happy days…

Then in January 2002, Mom was diagnosed with terminal lung cancer and Christmas would be changed forever.  Mom died December 27, 2002 and my son and I swore to create new Christmas traditions.  After all Mom would have wanted it that way; so remember to cherish these moments People because you never know when  it all may change — and sometimes you will wonder if it was for better or worse.

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, friendship, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Just Around The Corner…

  1. Bongo says:

    It’s always nice to have good memories to hold on to. My parents are both gone too, but I’ve got lots of good Christmas (and other) memories with them.

    • sandrabranum says:

      I always get a little melancholy this time of year, but as long as we get the Christmas decorations up in a timely manner, and I can hear “We Need A Little Christmas” when ever I need it I’m ok.

  2. tbnranch says:

    You are the inspiration to all that is good. Great post

  3. Thanks for sharing your walk down memory lane and I’m sorry to hear about your parents passing…my parents are both still alive, Mom is 90, but starting to decline, and Dad is 92. They are now moving into an assisted living facility and I see them entering their last chapter in life. We are going to see them for Christmas (we don’t live near) because I’m not sure about Mom’s health. Anyway, your words are true…you just never know…I’m wishing you a wonderful Christmas with your son~

    • sandrabranum says:

      I’m glad to hear your parents are in an assisted living facility and not a nursing home. Brace yourself and try not to feel too guilty when you see your folks. I remember something Mom said: “If we had known we would have lived this long, we’d have taken better care of ourselves.” Profound words, but not necessarily accurate when Life throws gutter balls atcha.

Leave a Reply

