Forward March!

I started to blog last night, but couldn’t find the words to describe what I was feeling; so I decided to wait and just let my feelings jell or ferment.  Strange words, I know, for me to use to explain my feelings, but sometimes that’s exactly what happens to artists, whether painters or writers.

An unexplained feeling rises from somewhere deep in your soul fighting to be acknowledged whether pain, a forgotten memory, or whatever.  Sometimes you just have to ignore that feeling until you can put it into words, but what is the catalyst that makes you finally accomplish this?

For me it was sitting down and adding to my 2011 Submission’s List.  Tangibly seeing what I’ve done — not necessarily accomplished — has helped my perspective tremendously.  And, believe it or not, my submissions have shown me that this year I’m almost even with the “rejects” and “accepts!”  That in itself, is a major accomplishment since I’ve really only been brave since I subjected myself to the fear and uncertainty of acting on the stage at the start of 2011.  What a rush that was!

Since then my vision has decreased and I now need more light; so it’s doubtful I will ever act on stage again, but I’m still grateful for that time because it has shown me that growing involves risk; just like in life.  So My Readers, I challenge you on this glorious Monday before Thanksgiving to be brave and try something different; maybe a little scary and just see where it leads you.

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Forward March!

  1. JL Stratton says:

    Great words of encouragement! You know, you’re kinda my hero (heroinne) in the way that you continue to write and express yourself in spite of your vision problems. I too have eye problems (although not to extent you have) and every time I think about whining or complaining that I can’t see well out of one eye, I think of your and your courage to continue when you have difficulty in both eyes. I decide my problems can’t be so bad if you are able and willing to overcome greater problems to continue writing.

    Keep it up, Sandra, you’re a great inspiration!

    • sandrabranum says:

      Aah Jim, you’re so sweet. And you inspire me too. I mean, how many people would write what you’ve written under a pen name? Guess we both better keep up the good work, eh?

      Regards

  2. Bongo says:

    That’s awesome that your accepts are almost even with your rejects, as even the best and most well known writers have plenty of rejections.

  3. Sandra, this is very inspirational and encouraging! I haven’t had the time to enter any contests, but I will! I promise myself! (and you) 🙂

    • sandrabranum says:

      You don’t have to enter contests; just find some websites that you’d like to submit to. So far, I’ve never been paid for any of my work, but it has appeared elsewhere. And most recently at http://www.juddshill.com/scripts/cpg.cfm?id=8 where “Wine Connoisseurs” was just posted. Now I can finally submit my Grand Canyon poems for anthology consideration. (I was waiting to see which of my poems Judd’s Hill would post).

      Write On!
      Sandra

  4. I never intended to be a writer. I think that was because my twelfth grade English teacher seemed only nominally interested in anything I wrote for her. Most of my college professors seemed to inherit her lack of enthusiasm for everything I turned in too. So, when I graduated, I did what any self respecting man who would never be a writer would do. I became a banker. Working with numbers is cleaner than working with words. There is concreteness in numbers that provides safety and security. Words carry with them a great deal of weight. So, I left the world of words never guessing I would ever miss it.

    • sandrabranum says:

      I feel the same and it was years before I started writing again. Now that I’m blogging, I can think of all sorts of things to say: some not so good. That’s the beauty of blogging and someday I hope to publish my work in a book, but meanwhile I’m honing my craft by blogging.

  5. Maiya says:

    Firstly I would like to say Thank you for encouraging me to start submitting again. I have and it feels good. Next I wanted to say you are in my prayers my friend. Also I clicked the like button to let you know I’m reading your posts not because I like what your going through. Sometimes I wish for a button that doesn’t say like. hugs Maiya

    • sandrabranum says:

      You are so welcome, my blogging friend. The hardest part is overcoming the fear. And trust me, “rejection” is nothing compared to the other fears we humans deal with.

Leave a Reply

