The Red Eye

I peer

out the window

of the

Red Eye

into the bright sun.

I gaze

at my watch.

The face incessantly blinks

12:00

on and off

on and off.

I open

my eyes

and face

the clock

that incessantly blinks

12:00

on and off

on and off.

I pad my way

slowly

down the hall

in my pink fuzzy feet

to the bathroom

where I peer

into the mirror

and see

my Red Eye reflected.

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in macular degeneration, poetry, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Red Eye

  1. JL Stratton says:

    I hate when that happens. But, what’s with the red eye?

    • sandrabranum says:

      The Red Eye is a play on words for (1) the late night flight between Honolulu and Los Angeles and (2) a reference to the eye that gets red after I get my eye shot for my wet type macular degeneration. My poor eye is worse than usual — this time all the sclera is red — and that motivated me to write this poem.

      Sandra

  2. Love it! By the way, I have nominated you, Sandra, for an award, so check out my blog! 🙂

  3. sandrabranum says:

    Lauren, you’re so sweet. Can’t wait to see what you’ve done on this beautiful Friday before Thanksgiving!

    Write on!
    Sandra

    P.S. When I won runner-up status for my “Shall We Dance?” haiku for the Best For Film’s Hollywood Haiku Contest, those “Best” people started what they wrote about me by saying “Ballsy Sandra Branum.” Now I’m beginning to understand just what they meant!https://sandrabranum.wordpress.com/2011/05/17/hollywood-haiku-10/

  4. Bobby Plantenga says:

    Whenever i have red eyes, it is mostly caused by irritation. It is a good idea to clean your eyes regulary. *

    Find out about our personal blog site too
    http://www.melatoninfaq.com/melatonin-dosage/

    • sandrabranum says:

      I would suggest checking with your eye doctor about this and any other eye concerns before doing anything because your sight is prescious, and you won’t realize just how much until you have vision loss. Regards, Sandra

Leave a Reply

