Run

Run on with the kite.

Watch it dip/bank in the wind.

Priceless moments shared.

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, friendship, poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Run

  1. Bongo says:

    My brother likes to take a kite to the beach. Fun times. This poem brings back memories.

    • sandrabranum says:

      Your brother must be tough. Running on the beach in all that sand is hard enough, but trying to run with a kite… I was never very good at kite flying; guess I couldn’t run fast enough. Wish I’d thought of trying it while on horseback.

  2. I have colorful imagery in my mind! Great haiku!
    Lauren 🙂

  3. JL Stratton says:

    Wow, these poems are great. You should compile them, and put them into a book or something!

  4. sandrabranum says:

    Thank y’all for your encouragement. I’m thinking about compiling a poetry book. Of course as you know from experience, thinking and doing are two different things. Meanwhile, I’m hoping to get published on the web more and that will motivate me. Still haven’t accomplished what I wanted with my scripts, but the blogging is definitely looking up. Have a super Holiday.

    Regards,
    Sandra

    • Good luck with the poetry book; I understand how you feel about thinking and doing! I’ve thought about that, too…have you considered self-publishing?

      • sandrabranum says:

        Two people I know from Dothan’s The Last Word writer’s group have self published; one through SmashWords and the other through Lulu. I’ve got to catch up with them after the Holidays and see how they did. Meanwhile, I’m submitting to online publishers thanks to P&W Magazine and that looks pretty promising so far. Are you thinking about self-publishing?

  5. I have thought about it, but the idea sits on the back burner! 🙂 I’ve never been published; that is a dream, but I need to start submitting again. Maybe I should take the time to research online publishing, but it’s hard to tell what’s legit and what’s a scam. I just need to spend more time looking into it. Sometimes, I’m also in the mindset of whether my writing is good enough, contrary to what I convey in my poems! Don’t let fear stop you; just do it! 🙂 I think it’s great you’re doing this and maybe you’ve inspired me, too! I wish you the best of luck! 🙂

    • sandrabranum says:

      You can do this, Lauren. The worst that can happen is you’ll get a reject email or letter. Check out my post “Rejection” for inspiration or perhaps just a chuckle. And remember even Stephen King got rejected. Until I started my blog all I got was rejects, but they just made me more determined. The Nov/Dec issue of Poets&Writers Magazine has details about websites looking for submissions, and some of them are free. There’s no pay, but you have to weigh the pros and cons on that. I’m currently waiting for information on when my accepted submissions to websites listed in the previous P&W Magazine will be posted. What ever you decide to do, Write on! I like to quote Peter Quincy Taggert from “Galaxy Quest” — “Never Give Up! Never Surrender!'”

      Sandra

      • Wow! Okay, you are definitely inspiring me to pursue this avenue! I’ll check into it and yes, you’re right about famous authors who were rejected a zillion times before they’re moment arrived…so, thanks again for your encouragement and if you can, I’d love to hear what happens on your end, too! It’s very exciting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

