Even Though

This poem was inspired by my novelist friend, Lisa Taylor.

I loved you enough

to be brave

and carry you to term

Even though my parents said:  “How could you do this to us?”

Even though my parents said:  “What will the neighbors say when they find out?”

Even though my parents said

to terminate you

I loved you enough to

be brave

and carry you

to give you up.

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, poetry, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Even Though

  1. Hi Sandra,
    This is very touching and heart wrenching…great job! Also, for some reason, even though I’m subscribed to your blog, your new posts aren’t coming through. Any ideas why? 🙂

    • sandrabranum says:

      Thank you. It’s amazing how we are sometimes compelled to write something. When I had trouble receiving blog update emails I contacted WordPress’ email support and asked them to magically correct the problem. So far they’ve always succeeded. Can’t wait to see your next post.

      Regards.

  2. thebabelblog says:

    What a sad poem. Great work!

  3. So much can be behind a poem like that. Powerful

    • sandrabranum says:

      The poem quotes are actually words said to someone else I know and that outcome was so different. That’s why I never condemn or condone unwanted pregnancy actions; I figure those people will have enough pain, regret and sorrow to carry around without any more from me.

  4. What a sad, yet beautiful surprise ~ thank you.

Leave a Reply

