Passersby

This poem was inspired by the writings of Warriorpoetess.  I hope you like it as much as I do her poetry.

She smiled at me through crooked teeth

and made me wonder:

Why can’t I

Smile?

Has my existence become so drab

that I can’t

Smile?

I passed another

on the street

and was greeted with another

Smile.

So I parted

my lips

and pasted on a

Smile

And soon became much better

for it.

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Passersby

  1. Randall says:

    Such a well done tender poem, also makes one think about why you are treating others.

  2. I pass so many people who won’t smile back – or won’t even look. I wonder how many are thinking this very thing.

    • I’m orginally from the north, and up there you see this kind of thing all the time. It’s almost like: if you look at someone, they take it as a threat. I’m still trying to adjust to everyone waving down here, and I’ve been here almost 6 years.

  3. Hi, I finally get to stop by your page and look what I find. Thanks for the mention, glad I could inspire this wonderful piece.

  4. JL Stratton says:

    Great work, Sandra. I’ll have to hurry up and get your autograph before you become so famous that I will no longer warrant access. I was also going to ask if you would post a link for warriorpoetess, but her comment showed up as I was getting ready to leave my comment. Again, Great work!

  5. Aah gee thanks Mr. Novelist. If you had been there that night for my triumphant stage debut, you’d have gotten my autogragh just like Karen and J’ni, but don’t worry… I’ll ALWAYS have a pen handy for you.

  6. Wonderful job, Sandra! I always tend to smile and wave, maybe too much~

Leave a Reply

