Singers

I too must pay my dues                                                              

So I can sing My Song

Just like Barry Manilow.

Or perhaps it’s Neil

Whose words inspire me so

To sally forth to conquer

All my doubts and fears

And “let me sing my song.”

Or maybe it’s just Ringo

For he’s the one who said:

The Blues can’t be sung

Without paying up those dues.

But in the end,

It really doesn’t matter

Because we all must sing our songs

Wherever we may find them…

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in poetry, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Singers

  1. I like to sing sometimes when my person is getting up to let me out in the morning. -Bongo

  2. This is one of my favorites!

    • sandrabranum says:

      Thanks. It really took awhile to write because it just didn’t seem complete. And I kept hearing “Longfellow’s Serenade” and “It Don’t Come Easy” in my head until I figured out how to get their references into the poem. Sure hope those singers see it and like it too. (Hint. Hint.) lol

  3. I really like the references to Barry Manilow, Neil Diamond and Ringo Starr, it ties in nicely, and makes me want to sing the poem out loud! Neil Diamond is great live on concert too!

  4. sandrabranum says:

    Thanks, but tell me how would you sing the poem out loud? If I were a musician I would add music to it, but alas am not. It was really strange writing this poem because I kept hearing these different songs in my head until I figured out how to refer to them. Now if The Cosmos would just tell These Great Celebrities about my little poem…

  5. Cubby says:

    Beautifully said. We all want to find our songs to sing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

