Talk Like A Man…

It’s been quite a while since I had to talk “like a man.”  You know what I mean — speak words quickly so you don’t get cut off or see those male eyes before you rolling around because you’re talking too darn slow.  Now perhaps if I had a Southern drawl I wouldn’t have this problem, but alas for me I don’t.

My son’s paternal uncle has been spending time visiting here in the Boondocks with his mother who happens to be my roommate.  (Someday when I become rich and famous that may change, but now it’s a matter of us both stretching our meager finances as far as they’ll go).  He gets impatient with me and my slow female talk because he’s not used to my lingo; or having to listen to a female.  Afterall it’s been years since I was married to his brother. 

When he first started interrupting me I let it slide, but now I bark right back at him and tell him I wasn’t finished… Sometimes he smiles at my antics — other times he rolls his eyes at me, and I wind up telling him to cut it out.  Usually when this happens, we hear Granny Jo say “Cut it out you kids!” and I am reminded of all the times my loving mother would say those very same words to me and Bernie Jr.  Ah sweet memories…  Sometimes in Life, the more things change the more they stay the same…

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, friendship, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Talk Like A Man…

  1. Oh, the challenges we face when we relate to other people.

  2. JL Stratton says:

    Yeah, get right in there, Sandy. He’ll respect you for it. The reason men don’t like to listen to women talk is because, the more they say, the more the man realizes he’s not as smart as the woman speaking. He realizes that, sooner or later, she is going to say something that he simply doesn’t understand. So he pre-empts the embarrassment by attacking early.

    Don’t you wish that’s how men really felt? In reality, he probably just thinks what he has to say is more important than what you have to say. And when women talk for more than three seconds, men go into this coma-like state where the words they hear suddenly sound like the teacher in those peanuts cartoons.

    • sandrabranum says:

      Good point Jim. I remember when I worked for the St. Louis OSHA Office one of the male supervisors asked me one day why I was talking “that way” to him? I told him it was because I was so mad and having trouble controlling my anger. Later a woman supervisor said it was because I was using “The Momma Tone” and he didn’t like being reminded of his mother. I often think of that now before using my angry tone.

Leave a Reply

