Phoney Dad

Everyone thought he was so wonderful-

this Dad of mine.

But they never saw

his dark side.

They never saw the dad who berated

my sister and I

Or beat us with ropes

Or sneaked into our room during the night…

Did Mom know?

I like to think not,

but in my heart

I know better.

 

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Phoney Dad

  1. Wow! How many people go through this and nobody else knows?

  2. sandrabranum says:

    I had this theory when I was growning up that abuse happens because the fathers don’t feel they are cheating on their wives, but that only explains one kind of abuse — not the others. Some people will blame it on the Church because of creating the idea of incest. I only know that what happens in your life will either make you or break you.

Leave a Reply

