Eyes, Eyes Baby

Sometimes the title of my blog post just “pops” into my head like The Cosmos is sending me a message.  Today must be one of those message days because as I prepared to type this blog entry, I thought of this song title.  (I have already blogged about how I use song titles in my daily life.  (See Tradition… And Songs). https://sandrabranum.wordpress.com/2011/02/02/tradition-and-songs/

Tomorrow (April 4th) marks one week since I received my 5th shot in my right eye for my wet type macular degeneration.  That’s 5 shots since June 2010, but once again I digress.

I was prepared for my visit March 28th because I had decided that I would do whatever it takes to keep my freedom, and — as long as my insurance and bank account allows — I will stand by those words.

The difficult part about the March 28th visit was the procedure changes.  Instead of prescribing eye drops for recovery after the shot, vast amounts of  benedyne were swabbed all around the closed eye post-shot.  There was so much benedyne that it cascaded into my tear duct and burned like hell.  The assistant immediately inserted more pain drops into my eye which was very difficult to do since my poor gooey eye did not want to open.

Once the pain drops wore off, I spent the rest of the day feeling like someone had dragged sandpaper over my eye.  This feeling still continues, but is slowly disappearing. 

When I look in the mirror, I still see a red-eye with a blue iris in its center.  It’s just a good thing that I have rose-tinted glasses or I would really have people gawking at me! 

My red-eye color is slowly fading, and sometimes I think I can even see some white in there.  Eventually the red will disappear and the “sandpaper” feeling will also be gone.  I spend a lot of time trying NOT to think about all this as I wait to see what the retinologist has to tell me May 10th at my next appointment!

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in macular degeneration. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

