Back On The Vino Again!

My stress level had been high for about a month for what I feel are sorrowful reasons:  missing my son.  (I know — I’m one of those overprotective mothers, but I’m trying to not be… Honest!)

My stress was affecting my eyes which is NOT conducive to keeping my macular degeneration in check.  And… my eyes were getting worse.  I was to the point where  I was seeing giant ripples of white light when my eyes were closed and a dark shadow over my right eye when it was open.  Since I’ve already had 4 shots in my right eye (over a 6 month period), you would think I’d be smart enough to just “let go.”  Alas, I’m tenacious like a dog with a bone… and sometimes I’m just not that smart.  (This works great at work, but I’m retired).

Last night, while rehearsing for the play A Bad Year For Tomatoes by John Patrick, the director got out bottles of wine and I drank one glass.  All I can say is, I should have imbibed sooner. 

Today the shadow in front of my eyes is a light gray instead of dark gray, and my white flashes have disappeared.  Gee how I wished I’d done this over Valentine’s Day when I was so foolishly hysterical.  The optometrist and retinologist both said a little liquor wouldn’t hurt me; so I’m going to again partake of the grapes and hops.  It’s only for medicinal purposes — I swear!

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in macular degeneration. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

