There’s No Business Like Show Business

Ethel Merman had it right when she belted out that song.   It’s so appropriate in so many ways.  “Show business” works in writing as in “Show, don’t tell.”  It also works in theater; especially if you have a director who allows you to “create” your character. 

Here at Headland’s (AL) Opus Nostrum theater, we are fortunate to have such a director.  Last night as I entered the front door, I was garbed in my favorite outfit (so far) for my character, Willa Mae Wilcox, in John Patrick’s “A Bad Year For Tomatoes.” 

I was apprehensive because I had no idea how the director would react.  He sat there silently staring at me.  I finally took a deep breath and began saying something like:  “What do you think of my outfit?  I figure I only have to wear this for the first scene.  After that it doesn’t matter.”

His answer surprised me.  All I heard was “I really like what you’re doing.”  Perhaps an actor has been born… Now if I can just transfer this to my writing…

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to There’s No Business Like Show Business

  1. James says:

    Maybe you’ve found your calling. But then again, if you are like me, or any other creative person, you will have thought you found your calling in about a half-dozen other activities throughout your life as well.

    Of course, if this is true, you must keep writing as I am sure somehow it will benefit your acting.

  2. Jennie Fiumefreddo says:

    Cant wait to see you in action!

Leave a Reply

