Rise Above It

As I sat here staring at the computer screen trying to think of something to post, I heard what I believe is John Candy’s greatest movie, Cool Runnings, start.  I spent some time reminiscing about where I was when I first heard the news about the Jamaican bobsled team. 

I, like so many people, stopped dead in my tracks and did a double take – wondering if I had heard the announcement incorrectly.  It was 1988 and I was working in the MICAP SECTION which later became known as MISSION SUPPORT SECTION at Tyndall AFB, FL.  MICAP workers called worldwide to find parts to fix the airplanes, etc. in support of Tyndall’s training mission.

I was familiar with calling Canada as well as Europe to locate those needed parts; so my first reaction was that I had heard wrong.  It took awhile for me to realize that Jamaica really had a bobsled team. 

I watched the coverage on the evening news — in awe — at this team.  Can you imagine overcoming those odds to capture a spot in Canada?

Now whenever I wonder about the potholes in my life road, I think about those Jamaicans and “rise above it.” 

Just remember:  you can too.

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rise Above It

  1. James says:

    A wonderful and inspiration post. I too remember hearing the news of the Jamaican Bobsled team. I was in Colorado Springs, Colorado getting prepared for my first tour to South Korea.

Leave a Reply

