The Way We Were

James MacArthur, the original “Book ‘em Danno,” from the 70’s Hawaii Five-O version died Oct 28, 2010. He was 72 years old.

 I discovered this information purely by accident while looking up other information on the World Wide Web. After reading a short paragraph about him, I researched some more and found a photograph of a curly gray headed man with a vast receding hairline. This was not the James MacArthur I remembered – the blond curly haired cutie from Spencer’s Mountain and Swiss Family Robinson. I can still remember “rooting for” the kids as they raced their strange animal mounts across the island, but strangely I cannot remember just what those animals were – except for the ostrich – and who was victorious. This just could not be that same sexy hunk from so long ago.

After deluding myself for a few more moments, I ventured into my bedroom to brush my hair and — to my surprise — discovered I was not the same star struck teeny bopper that I had once been. I promptly pulled all those gray strands from my hairbrush and violently tossed them into the trash vowing that when I go, either I’ll make sure there’s a very old photograph of me available or be like Fess Parker (Disney’s Davy Crockett) and no one will find any current photographs of me to display.

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Way We Were

  1. Barbara E. Gambill says:

    Hey my best friend, Wouldn’t I love to be the way we were way back when. I could run ,jump,ride horses(and you know how we used to love to do that) roller skate and all that GOOD stuff. I would even settle for my Natural hair color back instead of all this white stuff growing out of my head. Remember when I had Dark Brown wavy hair that used to go down my back almost to my Rear. I used to pull it all up into a pony tail as high as I could get it. You may only have a few gray hairs but as you know my hair is mostly all white these days and very little of it. AHHH I guess we are getting a bit older.
    If I remember correctly I do believe the other animal in that race was a Zebra. I could pull the tape>>>>Yes I said Tape as in VHS to check but it would probably take me a while to find it in all the tapes I have. Yes I agree with you >>>He was a hunk and I will forever remember him when Jack Lord would speak those infamous words>>>”BOOK EM DANNO”

Leave a Reply

