Let’s Do The Time Warp Again

Retro seems to be the “In Thing” these days.  We seem to want to relive better – yes I’ll say it – Happy Days.    Classic television shows are do-overs as movies and “new television” series.  How many can you name?  I can name a bunch because I’ve been told I have a mind like a steel trap.  (Could that be another way of saying “anal retentive?”)

Hollywood complains about not getting new ideas; yet they keep regurgitating the same old shit.  Lucky for them, some of it is successful like the movie The Fugitive with Harrison Ford.  Television’s 2010 version of Hawaii Five-O seems to be doing pretty well, but I’ll always prefer Jack Lord saying:  “Book ‘em Danno.”

Thank heavens Magnum P.I. redux fell through – oh how I hope it stays that way.  I mean come on:  William H. Macy as Higgy Baby, Steve Zahn as Rick and who could forget the stupid casting choice of Matthew McConaughey (and his ever present Texas accent) as My Hero.  Give me a break before I have my own personal reflux.

I like William H. Macy and Steve Zahn; but not as those characters.  I’ve seen many of Matthew McConaughey’s movies, but he always plays Matthew McConaughey just like Fran Drescher and Tony Danza always play themselves, but with different last names.  (How cute is that?)

And let’s not forget the retooling of The A Team.  I haven’t seen the big screen version.  I’m still having too much fun watching the little screen version.  Thank goodness for syndication.

To paraphrase television’s campy cult classic Batman:  Tune in tomorrow.  Same Bat Time.  Same Bat Channel to see what “retro” Hollywood will dream up next.

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Let’s Do The Time Warp Again

  1. James says:

    I like fran drescher playing fran drescher, but I mute the television when she talks. Of I don’t think it was so much her acting ability as the sexy suggestive clothing she chose.

    I’m glad Magnum P.I. didn’t make the cut. I feel sorry for the new “A-Team” movie, although I did not see it, and I’m still waiting for the new television version of Miami Vice.

  2. Barbara E. Gambill says:

    You wouldn’t be referring to your first love and hunk of an idol>>>>Tom Selleck . Talking about old TV shows I will always remember MR. T from the A Team. I liked the way he was about airplanes>>>>Just like me>>>>If God meant for me to fly he would have given me wings and NOT so much Fusilage to lift. HEHEHE!!!!!
    Take care and keep them coming.

    Barb G

Leave a Reply

