Where Will I Really Be After I’m Gone?

How many of you remember the Ed Wood, Jr. cult classic Plan 9 From Outer Space?  Aliens come to earth to take over the world by reanimating and controlling corpses.  I love that horror classic.  It starred Bela Lugosi and Vampira, and was the last movie Lugosi made.  (Actually he died during the making of the movie and according to Hollywood lore Wood substituted his dentist so he could finish his masterpiece).  I like to think of this movie as the first zombie movie.  I wonder if The Night Of The Living Dead zombies learned to strut their stuff from watching this movie?

This prelude brings me to the gist of today’s blog.  The AP News posted a story October 16 from Phoenix, AZ about human skulls and bones being found in 2 pits in a Bisbee (AZ) Cemetery.  Seems a woman discovered a pit September 30 when she was searching for a headstone and called the Bisbee Police.

Can you imagine what a horror story this would make if these skeletal remains somehow reanimated because they were angry at not being ground up into ash which is usually– and I would certainly hope ethically– the norm when dealing with unclaimed cremated remains.

How sad is this?  With the cost of funerals increasing like everything else, some seniors have seriously considered cremation to cut down on burial costs.  I had considered cremation, but now I wonder what would happen if my loving family chose to leave my cremated remains behind at the funeral home?

Scary, serious things to ponder – right before Halloween.

About sandrabranum

I'm a philosopher, dreamer, poet, writer -- not necessarily in that order -- and I get to write it all down and share it with the world thanks to the Wonderful World Wide Web!
This entry was posted in family, writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Where Will I Really Be After I’m Gone?

  1. JL Stratton says:

    Yeah. And the other thing to consider with cremation is: If you are cremated, how will your remains be reanimated when the aliens land on Earth? Just think of all you’ll be missing out on.

    Sorry that I haven’t posted any comments on your blog. It appears I’ve miss a bunch of good stuff. I actually could not find your blog because I had not imediately put it into my favorites (Well, I did at work) and I found out just now that I was spelling your name incorrectly.

    But now I’ve found it and I’ll never lose it again.

Leave a Reply

